Super Bowl XXVIII

Super Bowl XXVIII was the last hurrah for one of the great offensive teams in the NFL, the Buffalo Bills, who could potentially make more history by losing four consecutive Super Bowls and join the Minnesota Viking and Denver Broncos as the only four-time losers. The Dallas Cowboys, however, fielded a young and highly offensive corps group around quarterback Troy Aikman, wide receiver Michael Irvin, tight end Jay Novacek and unanimous NFL MVP running back Emmitt Smith. The two teams tied for the best record in the NFL at 12-4 and both allowed the second fewest points in their respective conferences. The Buffalo offense continued to be led by future Hall of Famers quarterback Jim Kelly and running back Thurman Thomas while the "D" was in the capable hand of future HOFer defensive Bruce Smith and All-Pro linebacker Cornelius Bennett and Pro Bowlers Darryl Talley, Nate Odomes and Steve Tasker. The Bills won the AFC East for the fifth straight year before edging out the Los Angeles Raiders 29-23 in the Divisional Playoff Game and then topping the Kansas City Chiefs 30-13 in the AFC Conference Championship to punch their fourth (and final) consecutive ticket to the Super Bowl. The Cowboys finished second in the NFL in points (373) behind the San Francisco 49ers (473) and took their 12-4 record up against the Green Bay Packers who they beat 27-17 in the Divisional Playoff. They then outscored San Francisco when it counted thumping the Niners 38-21 in the NFC Conference Championship Game.

Super Bowl XXVIII took place at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia for the first time on January 30, 1994 before a crowd of nearly 73,000 fans. The game began with an exciting 50-yard kickoff return by Kevin Williams setting up Dallas' first score of the game with a 41-yard Eddie Murray field goal. The Bills responded on the following drive as Steve Christie kicked the longest field goal in Super Bowl history when he booted a 54-yarder. Murray added one more field goal upping the score to 6-3 in favor of Dallas at the start of the second quarter. On the first drive of the second quarter, the Bills marched 80 yards on 17 plays before Thurman Thomas burst into the end zone on a 4-yard rush. The next three drives yielded no points, but Buffalo then scored once more on a 28-yards Christie field goal, pushing the Buffalo lead to 13-6 to start the third quarter. As the new trend continued, the halftime show was titled the "Rockin' Country Sunday" and featured the country music stars of the day including The Judds, Clint Black, Travis Tritt, Brooks & Dunn and Tanya Tucker. On the opening drive of the second half, the typically sure-handed Thurman Thomas fumbled for the second time of the game on Buffalo's 43-yard line and Dallas defensive back James Washington recovered and returned it for a touchdown. This tied the game for the Cowboys 13-13. Emmitt Smith added two more Dallas touchdowns on 15-yard and 1-yard runs to increase the Cowboys lead 27-13. Unlike the year before, Buffalo limited their turnovers to only three, but Dallas defense halted the majority of the Bills offense drives. Jim Kelly went to the air 50 times for 260 passing yards, but was unable to bring the Bills the coveted trophy. Eddie Murray added one more field goal for the Cowboys late in the fourth quarter giving Dallas a 30-13 victory. After rushing for 132 yards and two touchdowns and catching four passes for another 26 yards, Emmitt Smith was named the Super Bowl XXVIII MVP. Buffalo became the third team to lose four Super Bowls and the first and only to lose four consecutive. Despite their inability to win the big game, the early-1990s Bills teams did produce Hall of Famers in quarterback Jim Kelly, running back Thurman Thomas and defensive end Bruce Smith.