The popularity of quiz shows is changing the viewing habits of America. After the scandals from the early days of television it was thought by many that the big-money quiz show was doomed forever. Not so! In the spirit of getting with the program, SMaRt talk welcomes you to: Do You Want to be a Gazillionaire?

Here are 15 multiple-choice questions. You are allowed to look one up, phone a friend on one, and guess as many times as needed. As soon as you miss, you’re out until the next quiz. If you get all 15 right, of course, you win one gazillion units of praise from your friends at SMR. The answers are at the end of SMaRt talk. Ready?

For 500 units—Who was the first player to win the Heisman trophy?
A) Paul Hornung B) Jay Berwanger C) Whizzer White D) Nate Heisman

For 1,000 units—Who was the only player to play on a losing team the year he won the Heisman?
A) Paul Hornung B) Jay Berwanger C) Whizzer White D) Nate Heisman

For 2,500 units—Who was the only player to win the Heisman, play pro football and become a Supreme Court Justice?
A) Paul Hornung B) Jay Berwanger C) Whizzer White D) Nate Heisman

For 5,000 units—Which major college football team won 47 games in a row in the 1950s?
A) Ohio State B) Tennessee C) Notre Dame D) Oklahoma

For 10,000 units—Of the first five Super Bowls, three were played at this location. What’s the answer?
A) Los Angeles Coliseum B) Rice Stadium C) Orange Bowl D) Tulane Stadium

It’s getting exciting now! Are you nervous? Is that your final answer?

For 25,000 units—Out of the first 15 Super Bowls only two were decided by less than seven points. What team lost both of those heartbreaking games?
A) Kansas City B) Minnesota C) Denver D) Dallas

For 100,000 units—This quarterback is the only player to win the Super Bowl MVP award three times. Who is he?
A) Bart Starr B) Roger Staubach C) Joe Montana D) Troy Aikman

For 250,000 units—This great player led the American Football League in scoring for five different seasons in the 1960s. Who is he?
A) Billy Cannon B) Cookie Gilchrest C) Gino Cappelletti D) Jim Nance

For 500,000 units—This Hall of Fame pro football star was an All-American in basketball while attending Northwestern University. Can you name him?
A) Mel Blount B) Willie Davis C) Otto Graham D) Alan Page

For 1,000,000 units—He’s the only man to win NFL Defensive Player of the Year three times. What’s his name?
A) Dick Butkus B) Reggie White C) Deacon Jones D) Bruce Smith

This ends the second plateau. You may take your 1,000,000 units of praise and quit (can you hear us cheering in the background?) or you may continue. Good luck!

For one trillion units—Who’s the only player to lead the NFC in rushing for five consecutive years?
A) Barry Sanders B) Emmitt Smith C) Walter Payton D) Eric Dickerson

For one quadrillion units—Which one of these great players did not win the NFL Rookie of the Year award?
A) Dan Marino B) Barry Sanders C) Gale Sayers D) Jerome Bettis E) This question is bogus! They all won the award!

For one quintillion units—The 1942 Rose Bowl game was played in what city? A) Pasadena, CA, of course! What is this, a trick question?
B) Los Angeles, CA C) Palo Alto, CA D) Durham, NC

For one zillion units—The first three Fiesta Bowls were all won by the same team. Can you name this powerhouse of the early 1970s?
A) Arizona State B) Arizona C) Brigham Young D) Pittsburgh

The final question! This is it!

For one gazillion units—The Sun Bowl (also known for a time as the John Hancock Bowl) was first played in 1936. Who won this initial encounter?
A) Hardin-Simmons B) New Mexico State C) Texas Tech D) Texas Western E) Nobody won! The game was a tie!

Well, how did you do? Probably pretty well, as a recent poll showed that readers of SMR rate higher on the intelligence scale than any other group surveyed! Click here for the answers.

Bruce Amspacher has been a professional writer since the 1950s and a professional numismatist since the 1960s. He won the OIPA sportswriting award in 1958 and again in 1959, then spent eight years in college studying American Literature. This background somehow led him to become a professional numismatist in 1968. Since then he has published hundreds of articles on rare coins in dozens of publications as well as publishing his own newsletter, the “Bruce Amspacher Investment Report,” for more than a decade. His areas of expertise include Liberty Seated dollars, Morgan and Peace dollars, United States gold coins, sports trivia, Western history, modern literature and the poetry of Emily Dickinson. In 1986 he was a co-founder of the Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS).